Skip to Main Content
  • American Politics

    DePalo-Gould, Kathryn A. Teaching Professor — State and Local Politics, Women in Politics
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 403 | Phone: 305-348-2859 | Email: depalok@fiu.edu

    Evans, Kevin Associate Professor — Presidency, Congress and Inter-branch Relations
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 413 | Phone: 305-348-2073 | Email: keaevan@fiu.edu

    Fatovic, Clement Professor — American Political Thought
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 424 | Phone: 305-348-6428 | Email: fatovic@fiu.edu

    Furnal, Sara Visiting Assistant Teaching Professor — American Political Thought, U.S. Government
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 410 | Phone: 305-348-3295 | Email: sfurnal@fiu.edu

    Garcia-Perez, Amarillys Assistant Teaching Professor and Director of PreLaw Advising and Training Office (PLATO)— The Judicial Process, United States Supreme Court and the Constitution
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 406 | Phone: 305-348-3301 | Email: aeugarci@fiu.edu

    Makse, Todd Associate Professor — State Politics, Political Behavior, Legislative Politics
    Office: MMC, SIPA 405 | Phone: 305-348-8451 | Email: tmakse@fiu.edu

    Mattes, Kyle Associate Professor — Campaigns/Elections, Political Psychology
    Office: MMC, SIPA 432 | Phone: 305-348-8450 | Email: kmattes@fiu.edu

    Moats, Sara Associate Teaching Professor — American political institutions, Organized interest
    Office: MMC, SIPA 437 | Phone: 305-348-4279 | Email: smoats@fiu.edu

    Shields, Charles Visiting Assistant Teaching Professor Congress, Political Institutions, and Politics & Media
    Office: MMC, SIPA 416-A | Phone: 305-348-3297 | Email: cshields@fiu.edu

  • Comparative Politics (for information on regional specialization, see faculty by region)

    Arrarás, Astrid Teaching Professor — Democratization, Political Development
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 408 | Phone: 305-348-1692 | Email: arrarasa@fiu.edu

    Clark, John F. Professor — Democratization, State-Society Relations
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 418 | Email: clarkj@fiu.edu

    Gamarra, Eduardo Professor — Campaigns/Elections, Public Opinion, Democratization, Populism
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 409 | Phone: 305-348-1718 | Email: gamarrae@fiu.edu

    Kostadinova, Tatiana Professor — Democratization, Electoral Systems, Institutions
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 419 | Phone: 305-348-4066 | Email: kostadin@fiu.edu

    Levitt, Barry Associate Professor and Department Chair — Institutions, Public Opinion
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 429 | Phone: 305-348-2227 | Email: levittb@fiu.edu

    Lob,Eric Associate Professor — Comparative Politics
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 401 | Phone: 305-348-7923 | Email: elob@fiu.edu

    Mora, Frank Professor — Democratization, State-Society Relations
    Office: MMC Campus, DM 354 | Phone: 305-348-2899| Email: moraf@fiu.edu

    Moreno, Dario Associate Professor — Elections, Institutions
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 433 | Phone: 305-348-3854 | Email: morenod@fiu.edu

    Olson, Richard S. Professor — Genocide, Politics of Disaster, Political Development
    Office: MMC Campus, AHC5 251 | Phone: 305-348-6398 | Email: olsonr@fiu.edu

    Rosenberg, Mark B. Professor and University President — Politics of Development, Higher Education Policy & Management
    Office: MMC Campus, PC 528 | Phone: 305-348-2111 | Email: president@fiu.edu

    Sarduy, Naisy Instructor — Comparative Politics of the Middle East, Development Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 402 | Phone: 305-348-7927 | Email: nsarduy@fiu.edu

    Stack, John F. Professor and SIPA Founding Dean, School of International and Public Affairs — Ethnicity, Administrative Law, Constitutional Law
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 522 | Phone: 305-348-8422 | Email: stackj@fiu.edu

    Thiel, Markus Associate Professor — Institutions, Nationalism and Identity
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 412 | Phone: 305-348-2323 | Email: thielm@fiu.edu

    Washington, Marcie. Associate Teaching Professor — Collective Action, Development, and Migration Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 414 | Phone: 305-348-3754 | Email: mrwashin@fiu.edu

  • International Relations

    Akhtar, Iqbal Associate Professor — Islam and International Relations, International Relations Thought, Postcolonial Thought, and Islamic studies
    Office: MMC Campus, DM 359B | Phone: 305-348-7098 | Email: iakhtar@fiu.edu

    Baghdadi, Nima Assistant Teaching Professor — International Relations Theory, Middle East and Development Studies, Security Studies, Islam and Politics
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 404 | Phone: 305-348-3291 | Email: nbaghdad@fiu.edu

    Barder, Alexander D. Associate Professor — International Relations Theory, International Historical Sociology, Postcolonial Theory
    Office: MMC, SIPA 427 | Phone: 305-348-7925 | Email: abarder@fiu.edu

    Breslin, Thomas A. Professor — Diplomatic History, Ethnicity and Religion in Foreign Policy
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 428 | Phone: 305-348-2304 | Email: breslint@fiu.edu

    Clark, John F. Professor — Conflict and Peacemaking, Foreign Policy
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 418 | Phone: 305-348-2227 | Email: clarkj@fiu.edu

    Cox, Ronald W. Professor — Foreign Policy, International Political Economy
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 431 | Phone: 305-348-6429 | Email: coxr@fiu.edu

    Dinar, Shlomi Professor and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Innovation, Steven J. Green School of International and Public Affairs — Environmental Politics, Conflict Resolution and International Negotiation, Security Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 525 | Phone: 305-348-6958 | Email: dinars@fiu.edu

    Gamarra, Eduardo Professor — National/Citizen Security, Democratization, Populism
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 409 | Phone: 305-348-1718 | Email: gamarrae@fiu.edu

    Gould, Harry D. Associate Professor — Contemporary IR Theory, Ethics, International Law
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 423 | Phone: 305-348-2071 | Email: gouldh@fiu.edu

    Lob,Eric Associate Professor — Middle East and Development Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 401 | Phone: 305-348-7923 | Email: elob@fiu.edu

    Martín, Felix Associate Professor — Conflict Resolution and Peace Studies, International Political Economy, Security Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 426 | Phone: 305-348-1858 | Email: martinf@fiu.edu

    Mesbahi, Mohiaddin Associate Professor — Foreign Policy, Islam and Politics, Security Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 435 | Phone: 305-348-1857 | Email: mesbahim@fiu.edu

    Mishra, Anjana Visiting Assistant Teaching Professor - Introduction to International Relations, Contemporary International Problems, International Relations of South Asia, International Organizations, Politics of Development and Underdevelopment, Politics of Western Europe
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 415 | Phone: 305-348-6378 | Email: mishraa@fiu.edu

    Mora, Frank Professor — Foreign Policy, Democratization
    Office: MMC Campus, DM 354 | Phone: 305-348-2899| Email: moraf@fiu.edu

    Oates, John G. Associate Professor — International law and Organization, IR theory, Social theory, and Normative International Theory
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 407 | Phone: 305-348-7924 | Email: jooates@fiu.edu

    Olson, Richard S. Professor — International Sanctions, First World-Third World Relations
    Office: MMC Campus, AHC5-251 | Phone: 305-348-6398 | Email: olsonr@fiu.edu

    Sarduy, Naisy Instructor — International Relations of the Middle East, Contemporary Problems in International Relations
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 402 | Phone: 305-348-7927 | Email: nsarduy@fiu.edu

    Stack, John F. Professor and Founding Dean, School of International and Public Affairs — Foreign Policy, Security Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 522 | Phone: 305-348-6561 | Email: stackj@fiu.edu

    Thiel, Markus Associate Professor — International Organizations
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 403 | Phone: 305-348-2323 | Email: thielm@fiu.edu

    Verna, Chantalle F. Associate Professor — Economic History, Immigration and Ethnicity
    Office: MMC Campus, DM 385A | Phone: 305-348-3561 | Email: verna@fiu.edu

    Washington, Marcie. Associate Teaching Professor — Conflict Analysis and Resolution, Civil War, International Migration, and Security Studies
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 414 | Phone: 305-348-3754 | Email: mrwashin@fiu.edu

    Zeng, Jin (Julie) Associate Professor — Political Economy of Development, Chinese Politics, Politics of Economic Reform, 
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 411 | Tel: 305-348-0395 | Email: jzeng@fiu.edu

    Zwingel, Susanne Associate Professor — Gender in International Relations, Global Governance and Gender, Women's Rights, Gender and Armed Conflict
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 420 | Phone: 305-348-2248 | Email: szwingel@fiu.edu

  • Political Theory

    Akhtar, Iqbal Associate Professor — Islamic Political Thought, Postcolonial Thought, and International Relations Theory
    Office: MMC Campus, DM 359B | Phone: 305-348-7098 | Email: iakhtar@fiu.edu

    Baghdadi, Nima Assistant Teaching Professor — International Relations Theory
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 404 | Phone: 305-348-3291 | Email: nbaghdad@fiu.edu

    Barder, Alexander D. Associate Professor --- International Relations Theory, International Historical Sociology, Postcolonial Theory
    Office: MMC, SIPA 427 | Phone: 305-348-7925 | Email: abarder@fiu.edu

    Fatovic, Clement Professor — Ancient and Medieval Political Theory, Contemporary Political Theory, Democracy
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 424 | Phone: 305-348-6428 | Email: fatovic@fiu.edu

    Furnal, Sara Visiting Assistant Teaching Professor — Ancient and Modern Political Thought
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 410 | Phone: 305-348-3295 | Email: sfurnal@fiu.edu

    Gould, Harry D. Associate Professor — Contemporary Political Theory, International Legal Theory
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 423 | Phone: 305-348-2071 | Email: gouldh@fiu.edu

    Pedroso, Joaquin A. Assistant Teaching Professor --- Political Theory, Anarchism, Anti-Foundationalism, Contemporary Political Theory
    Office: MMC, SIPA 416-B | Phone: 305-348-8454 | Email: jpedroso@fiu.edu

    Zwingel, Susanne Associate Professor — Postcolonial IR Theory, International Relations Theory, Contemporary IR Theory, Feminism and IR
    Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 420 | Phone: 305-348-2248 | Email: szwingel@fiu.edu