Faculty by Regional Expertise

Africa

Akhtar, Iqbal Assistant Professor — South Asia, Islam and Politics
Office: MMC Campus, DM359B | Phone: 305-348-7098 | Email: iakhtar@fiu.edu

Clark, John F. Professor and Chairperson-- East and Central Africa; African foreign policies
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 431 | Phone: 305-348-3289 | Email: John.Clark@fiu.edu

Damman, Erin Kimball Assistant Professor - African Politics
Office: MMC, SIPA 405 | Phone: 305-348-2556 | Email: edamman@fiu.edu}

East Asia

Breslin, Thomas A. Professor — China
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 428 | Phone: 305-348-2304 | Email: Thomas.Breslin@fiu.edu

Zeng, Jin (Julie) Associate Professor — China
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 411 | Tel: 305-348-0395 | Email: jzeng@fiu.edu

Europe

Barder, Alexander D. Assistant Professor --- International Relations Theory, International Historical Sociology, Postcolonial Theory
Office: MMC, SIPA 406 | Phone: 305-348-7925 | Email: abarder@fiu.edu

Craumer, Peter R. Associate Professor — Eastern Europe
Office: BBC Campus, ACI 316 | Phone: 305-919-5818 | Email: Peter.Craumer@fiu.edu

Kostadinova, Tatiana Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director for Political Science — Eastern Europe, Bulgaria, Serbia, Macedonia
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 419 | Phone: 305-348-4066 | Email: Tatiana.Kostadinova@fiu.edu

Thiel, Markus Assistant Professor — European Institutions, European Union, Western Europe
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 403 | Phone: 305-348-2323 | Email: thielm@fiu.edu

Latin America and the Caribbean

Arrarás, Astrid Lecturer and Associate Director of Undergraduate Programs — Latin American Institutions
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 406 | Phone: 305-348-1692 | Email: arrarasa@fiu.edu

Gamarra, Eduardo Professor — Andes (Bolivia, Colombia, Venezuela), Caribbean (Dominican Republic, Haiti), Inter-American Relations, Campaigns/Elections, National/Citizen Security
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 409 | Phone: 305-348-1718 | Email: gamarrae@fiu.edu

Levitt, Barry Associate Professor — Peru, Latin American Institutions
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 418 | Phone: 305-348-3293 | Email: barry.levitt@fiu.edu

Martín, Felix Associate Professor — Argentina, Cuba, Latin American Civil-Military Relations
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 426 | Phone: 305-348-1858 | Email: Felix.Martin@fiu.edu

Moreno, Dario Associate Professor — Cuba
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 408 | Phone: 305-348-3854 | Email: dario.moreno@fiu.edu

Olson, Richard S. Professor, Director of Extreme Events Research, Office of the Vice President for Research — Nicaragua, US-Latin American Relations
Office: MMC Campus, MARC 365 | Phone: 305-348-6398 | Email: olsonr@fiu.edu

Rosenberg, Mark B. Professor, University President — Inter-American Relations, US-Latin American Relations
Office: MMC Campus, PC 528 | Phone: 305-348-2111 | Email: president@fiu.edu

Verna, Chantalle F. Assistant Professor — Inter-American Relations, Haiti, US-Caribbean Relations
Office: MMC Campus, DM 385A | Phone: 305-348-3561 | Email: Chantalle.Verna@fiu.edu

Middle East and Central Asia

Akhtar, Iqbal Assistant Professor — South Asia, Islam and Politics
Office: MMC Campus, DM359B | Phone: 305-348-7098 | Email: iakhtar@fiu.edu

Craumer, Peter R. Associate Professor — Former Soviet States
Office: BBC Campus, ACI 316 | Phone: 305-919-5818 | Email: Peter.Craumer@fiu.edu

Dinar, Shlomi Associate Professor — Israel
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 525 | Phone: 305-348-6958 | Email: Shlomi.Dinar@fiu.edu

Lob, Eric Assistant Professor — Iran, Lebanon, Syria, Middle East Politics, Middle East Economy and Development,
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 401 | Phone: 305-348-7923 | Email: elob@fiu.edu

Mesbahi, Mohiaddin Associate Professor — Central Asian Republics, Former Soviet States, Iran, Islam and International Relations, Iraq, Russia/Soviet Union
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 435 | Phone: 305-348-1857 | Email: mesbahim@fiu.edu

Sarduy, Naisy Instructor — International Relations and Politics of the Middle East, Iran, U.S. Iran Relations
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 402 | Phone: 305-348-7927 | Email: nsarduy@fiu.edu

United States

Breslin, Thomas A. Professor — US DIplomatic History
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 428 | Phone: 305-348-2304 | Email: Thomas.Breslin@fiu.edu

Cox, Ronald W. Associate Professor — US Foreign Policy, Interest Group Politics
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 430 | Phone: 305-348-6429 | Email: coxr@fiu.edu

DePalo, Kathryn A. Lecturer — US State and Local Politics, Women in Politics
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 404 | Phone: 305-348-2859 | Email: depalok@fiu.edu

Evans, Kevin Assistant Professor and Director of Undergraduate Programs — US Presidency, Congress and Inter-branch Relations
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 413 | Phone: 305-348-2073 | Email: keaevan@fiu.edu

Fatovic, Clement Associate Professor — US Political Thought
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 424 | Phone: 305-348-6428 | Email: fatovic@fiu.edu

Hill, Kevin A. Associate Professor — US Political Behavior, Electoral Politics, Southern Politics
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 420 | Phone: 305-348-3291 | Email: khill@fiu.edu

Makse, Todd Assistant Professor - State Politics, Political Behavior, Legislative Politics
Office: MMC, SIPA 416-A | Phone: 305-348-8451 | Email: tmakse@fiu.edu

Mattes, Kyle Assistant Professor --- Campaigns/Elections, Political Psychology
Office: MMC, SIPA 406 | Phone: 305-348-8450 | Email: kmattes@fiu.edu

Salokar, Rebecca Mae Associate Professor — US Legal Systems
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 407 | Phone: 305-348-2227 | Email: salokar@fiu.edu

Stack, John F. Professor, School of International and Public Affairs Interim Director — US Foreign Policy
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 522 | Phone: 305-348-6561 | Email: stackj@fiu.edu

Stiehm, Judith Professor — US Civil-military Relations
Office: MMC Campus, SIPA 403 | Phone: 305-348-2199 | Email: stiehmj@fiu.edu